my blog quoted on ORACLE technet forum

My previous entry is apparently a oracle FAQ.

OTN Discussion Forums : tkprof …

I have 10 udump trace files generated by batch that run in 10 process.
I would like to merge them into one tkprof file.

I don’t think my solution of using google:”/dev/stdin” is actually supported by oracle. Supported way is to use a Java tool called google:”trcsess” on oracle 10g and up.

Just for the fun of it, I tried using google:”/dev/stdin” on google:”trcsess” command line. It worked! So, here’s my hypothesis of the day:
“Any Java program which takes filename as an argument can read /dev/stdin because Java program doesn’t call lower library functions.”

Leave a Reply

